Creating password-protected pages

The Permissions panel can be used to create password-protected pages on your site (often called members’ areas).

Creating a group

To create password-protected pages, first create a group that will be allowed to access the pages. Click Groups in the menu on the left of the Permissions panel to display the group list, as shown in figure 1.

Figure 1. the group list

The field at the top of the group list lets you create a new group by entering its name and clicking Create. Below this is a list of the existing groups, including the number of users within each group.

Creating a user

Next, add users to the group. Click Users in the menu on the left of the Permissions panel to display the user list, as shown in figure 2.

Figure 2. the user list

Click Add user to create a new user. Give the user a username, password, and select the group to which they will belong. You can also specify an expiry date, which causes the user account to be deactivated on that date.

To delete an existing user, check the checkbox on the appropriate row.

Click Save to save the changes to the user list.

Setting page access rights

Finally, set the page access rights. Click Page access in the menu on the left of the Permissions panel to display the page list, as shown in figure 3.

Figure 3. the page list

Pages shown in green are publicly accessible. Pages shown in yellow are protected, and only the groups listed have access. Pages shown in red are private, and only the site owner account has access — the site owner details can be used to log in to any protected page.

To change the accessibility of a page, use the form above the page list, as shown in figure 4.

Figure 4. the page accessibility form

Use the drop-down field to select the page whose accessibility you want to change. Choose whether to make the page public or protected, and select which group will have access if the page will be protected. Choose whether to apply the changes just to the selected page, or to include all of its sub-pages. Click Apply to apply the changes.