Managing permissions

The editing system permissions system has two main functions. It can be used to create password-protected pages on your site (often called members’ areas). It can also be used to create additional editor accounts with different editing rights.

To manage permissions, go into edit mode, click the Panels button on the toolbar, and click the Permissions button, whose icon is shown in figure 1. Note that only the site owner account can access the Permissions panel, and additional editor accounts do not have access.

Figure 1. the Permissions icon

The Permissions panel will then open in a new browser tab.

Changing the site owner username and password

To change the site owner username and password, click Users in the menu on the left of the Permissions panel. The form at the top of the page, as shown in figure 2, lets you change the site owner username and password.

Figure 2. the site owner form